Ontario PC Leader Tim Hudak Names Key Positions In Minority Parliament

Tim Hudak

First Posted: 10/19/11 12:53 PM ET Updated: 12/19/11 05:12 AM ET

TORONTO - Progressive Conservative Leader Tim Hudak has named three key positions in Ontario's minority parliament.

Hudak says Christine Elliott will remain as deputy leader.

Jim Wilson has been appointed as house leader and John Yakabuski will serve as chief whip.

Yakabuski's position is an important one, as the governing Liberals are one seat shy of a majority government with just 53 seats.

The two opposition parties combined have 54 seats, which means every vote will count.

The appointments come one day before Premier Dalton McGuinty is slated to shuffle his cabinet.

Will an opposition member cross the floor in Ontario, giving McGuinty a majority?

  • Yes

  • No

Predict it!
Top Players
Beat your friends!
Connect through Facebook or Twitter and challenge your friends

Filed by Michael Bolen  |