04/25/2012 06:54 EDT | Updated 06/25/2012 05:12 EDT

Predators turning music stars into hockey fans

Edmonton Oilers Jordan Eberle has been honoured after just his second full NHL season, named one of three finalists for the Lady Byng Trophy on Monday.

The award goes to a player exhibiting sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct.

Eberle racked up 34 goals and 42 assists this season while heading to the penalty box for a total of just 10 minutes.

He is up for the award along with Florida Panthers defenceman Brian Campbell and New York Islanders forward Matt Moulson.

Campbell had just six minutes in penalties, the least of any NHL defenceman who played over 77 games.

The veteran can become the first defenceman to win the Lady Byng since Red Kelly took the honour for the third time in 1954.

Toronto native Moulson was cited for just three minor penalties in 75 games played, compiling 36 goals and 33 assists.

Frank J. Selke Trophy

The league announced that Patrice Bergeron of Boston, St. Louis captain David Backes and perennial nominee Pavel Datsyuk of Detroit are vying for the best defensive forward honours.

Bergeron and Backes are both first-time finalists.

Bergeron was tops in the NHL with a plus-36 rating, second in face-off percentage and scored three short-handed goals. Backes was recognized for his face-off ability, plus-13 rating and two short-handed markers, among other factors.

Datsyuk had a plus-21 rating and was recongized again for his ability to steal the pucks from opponents.

It is the fifth straight year he's been a finalist. He won the first three years, with Ryan Kesler of Vancouver taking the trophy in 2011.

The finalists for both awards were determined by the Professional Hockey Writers Association, with the winners announced at the NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas, broadcast on CBC on June 20.