04/29/2012 05:28 EDT | Updated 06/29/2012 05:12 EDT

CBC News dominates CAJ awards with 5 wins

CBC News has been honoured with five awards from the Canadian Association of Journalists, the highest number given to any one news organization.

A total of 16 awards were presented at Saturday's awards gala, which took place at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

The award for Open Television went to Timothy Sawa, Diana Swain and Angela Gilbert of CBC TV's The Fifth Estate.

The winning series, Scout's Honour, scrutinized Scouts Canada and the Boy Scouts of America for their handling of sexual abuse allegations within their ranks.

The prize for best scoop went to CBC Vancouver's Natalie Clancy and Manjula Dufresne for their report, Broken Mounties, which examined allegations of sexual harassment within the RCMP.

CBC Edmonton's Charles Rusnell and Grant Gelinas took home two prizes. The pair took top top honours in the regional television category for their Pork Barrel Politics investigation.

Their reports showed that several post-secondary institutions illegally spent tens of thousands of dollars on provincial Conservative party fundraisers over the past seven years. The duo also won in the open radio news and current affairs category.

The winner for the inaugural award for human rights reporting went to CBC's Alison Crawford. Her story for CBC Radio One's Dispatches, The eyes of Rosa and Antonio, focused on an emotional reunion between a pair of former torture victims fighting to convict their captors.

The internationally-focused radio show was recently cancelled due to CBC budget cuts. Its last episode will air in June.

As the CBC News team celebrates its achievements, we would like to thank our readers, viewers and listeners for making our work possible.

"It's been a real banner year for us in terms of stories," said Jennifer McGuire, CBC News Editor-In-Chief.

"CBC News has proven once again that it is a leader in investigative journalism, and it's nice to see other journalists recognize that."

The list of other winners is as follows.

Investigative categories:

- Open Television under 5 minutes: APTN National News' Jorge Barrera and Kenneth Jackson for Barrera Carsons

- Open Newspaper: Hamilton Spectator's Steve Buist and Teri Pecoskie for Born: A Code Red project

- Community Newspaper: The Eastern Door's Steve Bonspiel for Local tobacco giant busted

- Magazine: Maisonneuve Magazine's Selena Ross for Getting Plowed

- Computer-assisted reporting: QMI Agency's Andrew McIntosh and Kinia Adamczyk for On mange bien à Terrebonne

Excellence in journalism categories

- Daily excellence: Vancouver Sun's Kim Bolan for Bacon brother shot dead in Kelowna

- Photojournalism: Toronto Star's Steve Russell for Portfolio entry

- Print feature: Montreal Gazette's Andrew Stobo Sniderman for Residential schools: Survivors share the pain

- Labour reporting: Huffington Post Canada's Rachel Mendleson for Income inequality and the decline of unions

- Student award of excellence: The Runner's Matt DiMera for Dismissed! Student association settles RAF lawsuit. (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)