Paul Martin, Scotty Bowman Among Order Of Canada Recipients

05/25/2012 12:54 EDT | Updated 07/25/2012 05:12 EDT

Gov. Gen. David Johnston presided over an Order of Canada investiture ceremony at Rideau Hall Friday.

22 members, 21 officers and one companion received their new honours, including:


- Jazz musician Archibald Alexander Alleyne

- Photographer Hans-Ludwig Blohm

- Volunteer and philanthropist Lawrence Bloomberg

- Former cabinet minister and ambassador Benoît Bouchard

- Cape Breton Magazine and book publisher Ronald Caplan

- Thoracic surgeon Jean Deslauriers

- Musician, broadcaster and cultural promoter Joella Foulds

- Health care educator and innovator John Gilbert

- Litigator and judge Mary Hetherington

- Folk singer/songwriter and literacy advocate Paul Valdemar (Valdy) Horsdal

- Philanthropist and business leader Frederick Hyndman

- Businessman, politician and Acadian/French-language activist Denis Losier

- Poet, novelist and academic Pierre Nepveu

- Food bank founder and anti-poverty activist David Northcott

- Actor and activist Eric Peterson

- Business leader and philanthropist Thomas Stanfield

- Culinary enthusiast and journalist Anita Stewart

- Engineering innovator and philanthropist Donald Taylor

- Actor, director, playright and arts advocate R.H. Thomson

- Academic, feminist and Francophone literature advocate Maïr Verthuy

- Entrepreneur and philanthropist Brett Wilson

- Diabetes researcher and medical professor Bernard Zinman


- Computational chemistry and molecular photonics researcher André Bandrauk

- Former chief of defence staff and UN military advisor Maurice Baril

- Former Ontario lieutenant governor, diplomat, and aboriginal and mental health advocate James Bartleman

- ALDO founder, AIDS activist and philanthropist Aldo Albert Daniel Bensadoun

- NHL coach Scott Bowman

- Writer and editor Nicole Brossard

- Journalist, editor and columnist Alain Dubuc

- Columnist, author, commentator and documentary-maker Gwynne Dyer

- Former ambassador and diplomat Robert Fowler

- Statistician and professor Donald Fraser

- Spiritual leader, author and theologian Laurence Freeman

- Civil engineer and safety advocate Hugh Arthur Krentz

- Architect and professor Bruce Kuwabara

- Legal scholar and academic administrator Peter MacKinnon

- Playwright, mathematician and volunteer John Mighton

- Litigator and community activist David Scott

- Bioethicist and health policy expert Peter Singer

- eBay founder, philanthropist and film producer Jeffrey Skoll

- Home Depot Canada president and Habitat for Humanity volunteer Annette Verschuren

- Sports broadcaster and volunteer Brian Williams

- Pediatrician and researcher Alvin Zipursky


- Former prime minister and business leader Paul Martin