06/25/2012 12:56 EDT | Updated 08/25/2012 05:12 EDT

Canadian women's soccer team names Olympic roster

The Canadian women’s soccer team announced Monday the 18 players who will compete at the London Olympics, led by captain and all-time leading scorer Christine Sinclair.

Canada’s roster, selected by head coach John Herdman, also includes goalkeepers Karina LeBlanc and Erin McLeod; defenders Candace Chapman, Carmelina Moscato, Emily Zurrer, Robyn Gayle, Lauren Sesselmann, Chelsea Stewart and Rhian Wilkinson; midfielders Kaylyn Kyle, Diana Matheson, Kelly Parker, Sophie Schmidt and Desiree Scott; and forwards Jonelle Filigno, Melissa Tancredi, Brittany Timko and Sinclair.

Twelve of the 18 players were part of the 2008 Olympic team that reached the quarter-finals in Beijing.

The 12-team Olympic women’s tournament begins on July 25 — two days before the London Games' opening ceremony.

Canada will face Japan (July 25), South Africa (July 28) and Sweden (July 31) in group play. It’s considered a tough draw, as Japan won the Women’s World Cup last summer in Germany, and Sweden finished third.

The top two teams in each of the three Olympic groups advance to the knockout stage, along with two wild-card teams.

Canada lost all three of its matches at last year’s World Cup, but rebounded to qualify for the Olympics by finishing second to the United States in a regional qualifying tournament held in Vancouver in January.

The Canadian team is currently ranked ninth in the world.