09/04/2012 03:26 EDT | Updated 11/04/2012 05:12 EST

B.C. cabinet minister, 2 other MLAs to call it quits

Three more B.C. Liberal MLAs — including another cabinet minister — have announced they will not run again in the next election, but one other high-profile minister says he plans to stick around.

Late Tuesday, Transportation and Infrastructure Minister Blair Lekstrom announced his departure from provincial politics as of next May's election, following earlier announcements from two backbench Liberals, Joan McIntyre and Rob Howard.

But Energy and Mines Minister Rich Coleman announced that he does plan to run again in the riding of Fort Langley – Aldergrove in the May 2013 election. He has held the riding since 1996.

McIntyre, a former minister of state for intergovernmental relations, is a former pollster first who won the West Vancouver-Sea to Sky seat in 2005. She said Tuesday she only ever planned to serve for two terms.

Howard is the MLA for Richmond Centre.

The former property developer and city councillor first won the seat in 2009.

The announcements come as Premier Christy Clark prepares to shuffle her cabinet in preparation for the spring election.

Last week, several high profile ministers — including cabinet ministers Kevin Falcon, George Abbott, Mary McNeil and former cabinet minister John Les — announced they wouldn't be seeking re-election.