VICTORIA - British Columbia's Conservative Party Leader John Cummins could become a victim of friendly fire this weekend at his party's annual general meeting in Langley.

Two opposing factions within the Conservatives are billing themselves as friends heading into Saturday's meeting, but while one group is openly friendly towards Cummins, the other says happiness comes with a leadership review that tosses Cummins from his job.

A group calling itself Friends of the Conservative Party surfaced Tuesday, running a seven-member slate of candidates for the party's executive positions and calling for votes in favour of a leadership review that will see Cummins forced to step down as leader if the vote passes.

The Friends of the Conservative Party group is the new faction, while another group called Friends of John Cummins, formed earlier, supports Cummins as leader and is urging members to reject the call for a leadership vote.

The party's constitution calls for a vote on whether to hold a leadership review and requires only a majority vote to pass. If it passes, Cummins would have to step down and a leadership campaign would start.

Party members have already received ballots and the result of the leadership review vote will be released at the Langley meeting.

Ben Besler, the party's current vice-president, said he's running for party president as part of the Friends of B.C. Conservative Party slate.

Besler is one of several party members, including current director John Crocock, who have been calling for Conservatives to vote in favour of a leadership review.

Besler would not directly discuss his group's leadership concerns, but previously said he was part of a group that sent emails to party members expressing concerns about Cummins's leadership style, his relations with the party's only member of the legislature John van Dongen, the party's two third-place finishes in recent byelections and Cummins's $4,000-a-month stipend.

"I'm not going to come out and blatantly say, 'You know, the slate is anything to do with leadership,'"' he said.

"But you can read into the fact the slate is backing myself and John Crocock. The slate is supporting myself and John Crocock, who have called for a Yes vote."

Cummins was unavailable for immediate comment Tuesday. He had said earlier he expects party members to turn down the leadership review option and believes the Conservatives will emerge from the weekend strong, united and ready to take on Premier Christy Clark's Liberals.

He said earlier the release of his friends' lists, including party executives, riding representatives and women's groups, was meant to counter the emails sent to party members asking them to vote in favour of a leadership review.

He called the Friends of John Cummins lists "spontaneous."

Cummins is scheduled to address the party faithful on Saturday.

Also on HuffPost:

Loading Slideshow...
  • Minister of Finance and House Leader

    Mike de Jong

  • Deputy Premier, Minister of Energy, Mines and Natural Gas, Minister Responsible for Housing

    Rich Coleman

  • Minister of Health

    Margaret MacDiarmid

  • Minister of Education

    Don McRae

  • Minister of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation

    Ida Chong

  • Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure

    Mary Polak

  • Minister of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations

    Steve Thomson

  • Minister of Agriculture

    Norm Letnick

  • Minister of Justice and Attorney General

    Shirley Bond

  • Minister of State for Small Business

    Naomi Yamamoto

  • Minister of Jobs, Tourism and Skills Training and Minister Responsible for Labour

    Pat Bell

  • Minister of Advanced Education, Innovation and Technology and Minister Responsible for Multiculturalism

    John Yap

  • Minister of Social Development

    Moira Stilwell

  • Minister of Environment

    Terry Lake

  • Minister of State for Seniors

    Ralph Sultan

  • Minister of Citizens' Services and Open Government

    Ben Stewart

  • Minister of Community, Sport and Cultural Development

    Bill Bennett

  • Minister of Children and Family Development

    Stephanie Cadieux

Loading Slideshow...
  • Ron Cantelon

    The MLA for Parksville-Qualicum was re-elected in 2009 and was appointed Parliamentary Secretary for Innovation and Technology in September 2012.

  • John Slater

    John Slater, MLA for Boundary-Similkameen, was elected in 2009. In January 2013, he announced he was <a href="">leaving the B.C. Liberal caucus to sit as an Independent</a> after the party refused to approve his candidacy to run again.

  • Blair Lekstrom

    The Liberal MLA for Peace River South was first elected in 2001. Since 2011, he has served as Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure.

  • Colin Hansen

    The MLA for Vancouver-Quilchena was elected in 1996, 2001, 2005 and 2009.

  • George Abbott

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Shuswap</a> was first elected in 1996. A member of the Priorities and Planning Committee and the Cabinet Committee on Families First, Abbott was appointed the Minister of Education in 2010.

  • Rob Howard

    The Liberal MLA for Richmond Centre was elected in 2009. He cited "personal reasons" for not running again.

  • John Les

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Chilliwack</a> was first elected in 2001. He served as parliamentary secretary, Minister of Small Business and Economic Development and Public Safety and Solicitor General.

  • Mary McNeil

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Vancouver-False Creek</a> was first elected in 2009. In 2011, she was appointed Minister for Children and Family Development.

  • Kevin Falcon

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Surrey-Cloverdale</a> was first elected in 2001. He has served as ministers of finance, health and transportation.

  • Dave Hayer

    The Liberal MLA for Surrey-Tynehead was first elected in 2001. He served on the Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services.

  • Joan McIntyre

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for West Vancouver-Sea to Sky</a>, who was first elected in 2005, said she always planned to serve no more than two terms.

  • Harry Bloy

    The Liberal MLA for Burnaby-Lougheed was first elected in 2001. He was the only member of the B.C. Liberal caucus to support Christy Clark's bid for the party leadership. He served as Minister of Social Development and Minister Responsible for Multiculturalism.

  • Kash Heed

    The Liberal MLA for Vancouver-Fraserview was first elected in 2009. He served as minister of public safety and solicitor general.

  • Murray Coell

    The Liberal MLA for Saanich North and the Islands was first elected in 2001. He has headed the ministries of labour, environment and advanced education.

  • Kevin Krueger

    The Liberal MLA for Kamloops-South Thompson was first elected in 1996. He served as Minister of State for Mining, Minister of Small Business and Revenue and Minister of Community Development.

  • Bill Barisoff

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Penticton</a> was first elected in 1996. In 2005 he was named Speaker of the B.C. Legislature.

  • Gary Coons

    The North Coast NDP MLA was first elected in 2005, and again in 2009.

  • Dawn Black

    The NDP MLA of New Westminster was elected in 2009.

  • Michael Sather

    The NDP MLA for Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows was elected in 2005 and 2009. He was the Opposition critic for fisheries.

  • Randy Hawes

    The MLA for Abbotsford-Mission was first elected in 2001, and again in the 2005 and 2009 elections.

  • Diane Thorne

    The NDP MLA for Coquitlam-Maillardville was elected in 2005 and again in 2009. She was the deputy opposition critic for education.

  • Guy Gentner

    The NDP MLA for Delta North was elected in 2005 and 2009.