A recent flag flap and online threats will not deter a pro-life group from flying their banner in Kelowna next week.

Controversy over flying a pro-life flag over city hall resulted in councillors voting to stop their tradition of flying “courtesy flags” that promote various causes and groups.

The issue resulted in several emails and letters threatening to burn or destroy the pro-life flag if it flew, Marlon Bartram, executive director of Kelowna Right to Life, told The Huffington Post B.C. on Tuesday.

However, plans are going ahead to fly the banner at four different schools in the city Sept. 24-30, which the mayor has declared “Protect Human Life Week.”

Immaculata Catholic Regional High School, Kelowna Christian Heritage School and St. Joseph's Elementary in Kelowna, as well as Our Lady of Lourdes Elementary in Westbank, will fly the pro-life flag.

Because of the threats, there will be 24-hour video surveillance of the grounds surrounding the flag poles, Bartram told the Kelowna Capital News.

Bartram said the hostility toward the anti-abortion group is not new. “It’s not uncommon for us to get obscene gestures from passing cars. It doesn’t prevent us from speaking out on what we believe,” he told HuffPost B.C.

Also on HuffPost:

Loading Slideshow...
  • Which Cabinet Ministers Oppose Abortion?

    The <a href="http://www.campaignlifecoalition.com/index.php?p=Find_Your_MP" target="_hplink">Campaign Life Coalition provides a listing of MPs who support and oppose abortion rights</a>. The list is based on voting records, previous comments and questionnaire responses. Here is a list of Conservative cabinet ministers who, according to the Coalition, oppose abortion. (CP)

  • Rob Nicholson

    Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada. (CP)

  • Vic Toews

    Minister of Public Safety. (CP)

  • Peter Van Loan

    Leader of the Government in the House of Commons. (CP)

  • Jason Kenney

    Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism. (CP)

  • Gerry Ritz

    Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board. (Handout)

  • Ed Fast

    Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway. (CP)

  • Lynne Yelich

    Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification. (Handout)

  • Gary Goodyear

    Minister of State for Science and Technology and for the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario. (Handout)