10/31/2012 06:26 EDT | Updated 12/31/2012 05:12 EST

TTC gets 4 citizen board members

Toronto City Council has approved four new citizen members of the Toronto Transit Commission board.

On Wednesday, council approved the appointments of Maureen Adamson, Nick Di Donato, Alan Heisey, and Anju Kumar Virmani.

The appointments ae the culmination of the city's decision to increase the number of TTC board members from seven to 11.

All of the appointees are required to have experience as company directors and executive level experience.

"In addition, the members must collectively represent a range of skills, knowledge and experience with one or more large organizations in the areas of strategic business management," the city said in a news release.

Adamson has held senior positions with the Ontario Ministry of Health and is currently the president and CEO of Cystic Fibrosis Canada.

Di Donato is the CEO of the Liberty Entertainment Group and has past experience with Invest Toronto.

Heisey is a Toronto lawyer and a former chair of the Toronto Police Services board.

Virmani is the chief information officer at Cargojet.

The citizen board members will normally serve a four-year term which will roughly coincide with the term of city council.

The members appointed on Wednesday will serve for approximately two years, until 2014.