VANCOUVER - The B.C. premier has pledged to fully co-operate should a conflict of interest probe be launched into her role in the controversial BC Rail sale.

"I'm glad in many ways that this issue was put before him," Christy Clark told reporters Thursday, referring to Commissioner Paul Fraser. "Because we will finally, once and for all, be able to put a fork in this."

Questions have dogged the premier over the nine years since she served as education minister and deputy premier when the railway was up for sale in a process that ultimately ended in scandal.

Independent MLA John van Dongen has again brought the issue to the fore this week by asking the Office of the Conflict of Interest Commissioner to investigate. Van Dongen has supplied the office with a 20-page brief and large binder of documents he compiled on his own accord.

"Everything I'm doing is in good faith and I believe it's part of my responsibility and my duty," he said in an interview.

"I have knowledge and concerns and that's what I'm doing, I'm raising them in good faith. I'm conscious of my duties from all perspectives as an MLA."

Van Dongen resigned both as a Liberal and a Conservative and now sits as an independent.

Clark said she thinks it's time the issue be settled with a final opinion from the conflict commissioner.

"A reputation is really one of the most important things that you have," she said. "The fact that all this supposition and all these rumours exist really only serves to undermine people's confidence."

Van Dongen is alleging that Clark contravened the provincial Conflict of Interest Act, and is asking the commission to investigate certain activities she engaged in with relation to the BC Rail file.

He refused to say exactly what be believes the conflict of interest might be, instead saying his documentation represents "reasonable and probable grounds."

His letter to the commissioner suggests that while Clark made known she was taking action to avoid a potential for a conflict of interest in relation to BC Rail on some occasions, there were instances where she did not.

The documents show Clark withdrew from a cabinet meeting about BC Rail on Nov. 19, 2003, the date it approved a successful bidder. She also left the legislature on Dec. 2, 2003, before the third reading of a bill on BC Rail.

According to the Hansard transcript, Clark received advice from the conflict of interest commissioner at the time, who advised her to excuse herself "out of an abundance of caution."

Van Dongen said the conflict of interest protocol applies to "not just decisions, but also participation in discussion."

"If you look at the body of evidence put forward in the binder (of documents), it will raise questions about the high probability of her being involved in other cabinet meetings involving this issue," he said.

Clark's brother is Bruce Clark, who is noted in the agreed statement of facts signed when two former aides pleaded guilty to corruption charges in relation to the scandal.

RCMP seized a number of document's from Bruce Clark's office and residence, which were disclosed to him by aides Dave Basi and Bobbi Virk over the year preceding the sale.

The provincial government cancelled the bidding process in March 2004 after learning confidential information about the bidding had been disclosed.

A criminal trial of Basi and Virk that began in summer 2010 ended abruptly the following October when the pair pleaded in exchange for government's payment of their $6 million legal fees. Their nearly two-year house arrest sentences concluded last month.

Critics have long called for an inquiry into the BC Rail sale, arguing questions still remain about exactly what happened.

Also on HuffPost:

Loading Slideshow...
  • Ron Cantelon

    The MLA for Parksville-Qualicum was re-elected in 2009 and was appointed Parliamentary Secretary for Innovation and Technology in September 2012.

  • John Slater

    John Slater, MLA for Boundary-Similkameen, was elected in 2009. In January 2013, he announced he was <a href="">leaving the B.C. Liberal caucus to sit as an Independent</a> after the party refused to approve his candidacy to run again.

  • Blair Lekstrom

    The Liberal MLA for Peace River South was first elected in 2001. Since 2011, he has served as Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure.

  • Colin Hansen

    The MLA for Vancouver-Quilchena was elected in 1996, 2001, 2005 and 2009.

  • George Abbott

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Shuswap</a> was first elected in 1996. A member of the Priorities and Planning Committee and the Cabinet Committee on Families First, Abbott was appointed the Minister of Education in 2010.

  • Rob Howard

    The Liberal MLA for Richmond Centre was elected in 2009. He cited "personal reasons" for not running again.

  • John Les

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Chilliwack</a> was first elected in 2001. He served as parliamentary secretary, Minister of Small Business and Economic Development and Public Safety and Solicitor General.

  • Mary McNeil

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Vancouver-False Creek</a> was first elected in 2009. In 2011, she was appointed Minister for Children and Family Development.

  • Kevin Falcon

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Surrey-Cloverdale</a> was first elected in 2001. He has served as ministers of finance, health and transportation.

  • Dave Hayer

    The Liberal MLA for Surrey-Tynehead was first elected in 2001. He served on the Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services.

  • Joan McIntyre

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for West Vancouver-Sea to Sky</a>, who was first elected in 2005, said she always planned to serve no more than two terms.

  • Harry Bloy

    The Liberal MLA for Burnaby-Lougheed was first elected in 2001. He was the only member of the B.C. Liberal caucus to support Christy Clark's bid for the party leadership. He served as Minister of Social Development and Minister Responsible for Multiculturalism.

  • Kash Heed

    The Liberal MLA for Vancouver-Fraserview was first elected in 2009. He served as minister of public safety and solicitor general.

  • Murray Coell

    The Liberal MLA for Saanich North and the Islands was first elected in 2001. He has headed the ministries of labour, environment and advanced education.

  • Kevin Krueger

    The Liberal MLA for Kamloops-South Thompson was first elected in 1996. He served as Minister of State for Mining, Minister of Small Business and Revenue and Minister of Community Development.

  • Bill Barisoff

    The <a href="" target="_hplink">Liberal MLA for Penticton</a> was first elected in 1996. In 2005 he was named Speaker of the B.C. Legislature.

  • Gary Coons

    The North Coast NDP MLA was first elected in 2005, and again in 2009.

  • Dawn Black

    The NDP MLA of New Westminster was elected in 2009.

  • Michael Sather

    The NDP MLA for Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows was elected in 2005 and 2009. He was the Opposition critic for fisheries.

  • Randy Hawes

    The MLA for Abbotsford-Mission was first elected in 2001, and again in the 2005 and 2009 elections.

  • Diane Thorne

    The NDP MLA for Coquitlam-Maillardville was elected in 2005 and again in 2009. She was the deputy opposition critic for education.

  • Guy Gentner

    The NDP MLA for Delta North was elected in 2005 and 2009.