Parliamentarians Of The Year: Elizabeth May Wins Best MP

Posted: Updated:
Getty Images
Getty Images

Green Leader Elizabeth May has been named 2012 Parliamentarian of the Year at an annual event organized by Maclean's magazine and L’actualité.

Members of Parliament voted in eight categories to pick winners of the POTYs among their colleagues.

"I am so honoured to receive such an enormous award from my colleagues in the House. I am the first woman to receive the Parliamentary of the Year award. And certainly I hope by next year, or even next week, I will not be the only Green MP," said May, MP for Saanich-Gulf Islands, in a news release Wednesday.

Runner-ups for the award were 2011 winner Bob Rae (Liberal, Toronto Centre) and and Rodger Cuzner (Liberal, Cape Breton—Canso).

Ipsos Reid, which oversaw the voting, converted votes to a point system to ensure that larger parties did not have an advantage. The MP who received the most points in each category won. The MP who earned the highest number of total points was named Parliamentarian of the Year.

The magazines also handed out a lifetime achievement award to Preston Manning, former MP for Calgary Southwest.


Parliamentarian of the Year: Elizabeth May, Saanich-Gulf Islands
First Runner-up: Hon. Bob Rae, Toronto Centre
Second Runner-up: Rodger Cuzner, Cape Breton—Canso

Hardest working: Kirsty Duncan, Etobicoke North
First Runner-up: Olivia Chow, Trinity-Spadina
Second Runner-up: Jason Kenney, Calgary Southeast

Best Orator: Hon. Bob Rae, Toronto Centre
First Runner-up: Charlie Angus, Timmins-James Bay
Second Runner-up: John Baird, Ottawa-West Nepean

Most Collegial: Peter Stoffer, Sackville—Eastern Shore
First Runner-up: Rodger Cuzner, Cape Breton—Canso
Second Runner-up: Kirsty Duncan, Etobicoke North

Most Knowledgeable: Right Hon. Stephen Harper, Calgary Southwest
First Runner-up: Peter Julian, Burnaby-New Westminister
Second Runner-up: Joe Comartin, Windsor-Tecumseh

Rising Star: Michelle Rempel, Calgary Centre-North
First Runner-up: Ted Hsu, Kingston and the Islands
Second Runner-up: Alexandre Boulerice, Rosemont—La Petite-Patrie

Best Represents Constituents: Niki Ashton, Churchill
First Runner-up: Cheryl Gallant, Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke
Second Runner-up: Bruce Hyer, Thunder Bay-Superior North

Related on HuffPost:

Best MPs Of The Session
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction