The tool can also be used to remind users of dormant accounts that they've forgotten about and may want to close.
Users can set a period of three, six, nine or 12 months to be notified if an account has been inactive with no log-ins.
Up to 10 friends or family members can be added to a contact list and given permission to download Gmail messages and data from other Google services including Blogger, Google+, Picasa and YouTube.
Users can also set up the service to automatically delete their data after a period of inactivity.
On the web:
Inactive Account Manager: https://www.google.com/settings/account/inactiveSuggest a correction