05/16/2013 12:00 EDT | Updated 07/16/2013 05:12 EDT

Byelections expected in several B.C. municipalities

It's not clear where Premier Christy Clark, who lost her seat in the provincial election, will choose to run in a byelection — but it won't be the only municipal election taking place in the near future.

Ten municipal politicians have been elected to the legislature and some will be giving up their city hall positions to become MLAs, which will trigger byelections.

Jordan Bateman with the Canadian Taxpayers Federation says communities including Pemberton, Abbotsford and Oliver will have to foot the bill.

"We have a very expensive summer in B.C. for property tax payers," he said. "Maybe there should be a commitment from some of these candidates to defray the costs."

Penticton mayor and now-Liberal MLA Dan Ashton has offered to cover the cost of a byelection up to $35,000.

Langley Mayor Peter Fassbender, who won in Surrey–Fleetwood, is giving up his municipal seat but won't be covering byelection costs.

"I don't think he [Ashton] has done any favours for the rest of us by doing that. People say, 'You should do that same thing,'" Fassbender said.

"The people of my city know I don't do this lightly, I'm not climbing any ladder, I don't need another line on my resume. I did this because I think I can make a positive contribution."

Byelection ridings

- Abbotsford–Mission.

- Boundary–Similkameen.

- Delta North.

- Fraser–Nicola.

- Peace River South.

- Penticton.

- Port Moody–Coquitlam.

- Surrey–Fleetwood.

- Surrey–Panorama.

- West Vancouver–Sea to Sky.