09/24/2013 05:36 EDT | Updated 11/24/2013 05:12 EST

Results rolling in across province

Voters across Newfoundland and Labrador went to the polls Tuesday to select who will represent them in their municipal governments for the next four years.

There are a total of 276 municipalities in the province, but many did not need elections.

In towns from Anchor Point to Woody Point, the councils were acclaimed, with no races required.

- Click here for live, up-to-the-minute results

Many larger centres had incumbent mayors returned to the job without a challenge.

In Mount Pearl, Randy Simms won uncontested. Al Hawkins was returned without opposition in Grand Falls-Windsor. And Claude Elliott, who has been Gander mayor since the 1990s, will keep the job for four more years.

The cities of St. John’s and Corner Brook both have races for the mayor’s chair and nearly all council positions.

In Happy Valley-Goose Bay, former Tory cabinet minister and mayor John Hickey is facing off against newcomer Jamie Snook for the top job.