OTTAWA - Pringles brand salt and vinegar potato chips are being recalled because they contain milk that isn`t declared on the label.
The chips were sold across Canada in 168 gram packages (UPC code 0 64100 85246 4).
There have been no reported illnesses linked to the product, which could pose a serious, and even life-threatening risk, to people allergic to milk.
Kellogg Canada Inc., has recalled the chips from the marketplace, and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency is monitoring the recall.
Also on HuffPost:
Kraft Singles Cheese
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Animal enzymes According to Kraft's website, enzymes used to make Kraft Singles slices and <a href="http://kraftfoods.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/695/related/1" target="_blank"> the powdered cheese for Macaroni and Cheese,</a> are both <a href="http://kraftfoods.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/703/related/1" target="_blank"> "sourced from both microbial fermentations and animal sources" </a> such as cow, sheep, and goat.
Guinness (And Other Beers)
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Dried fish bladder An in-depth report says <a href="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/03/14/guinness-fish-bladder_n_2878165.html" target="_blank">Guinness beer may have used isinglass (an ingredient made from dried fish bladder)</a> during their brewing process.
Nerds (And Other Red Candies)
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Insects Carmine, made from beetles and other insects, is a common type of food colouring. This <a href="http://voices.yahoo.com/vegans-beware-candy-likely-contain-hidden-animal-5639082.html?cat=5" target="_blank">ingredient is usually found in red coloured candies and strawberry-and-grape flavoured Nerds.</a> And just last year, coffee-giant Starbucks told consumers their<a href="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/03/28/starbucks-beetle-bug-extract_n_1385521.html" target="_blank"> Strawberries & Crème Frappuccinos and strawberry-flavoured smoothies all contained cochineal extract</a> — red food colouring made from crushed cochineal beetles.
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Gelatin is made from the protein of animal by-products such as skin, tendons, ligaments and bones. If you're a vegetarian or vegan, you probably already know to avoid marshmallows, some jams, jellies and gelatin desserts like JELL-O. But some candies like Peeps, gummy bears and even <a href="http://www.thestar.com/life/health_wellness/nutrition/2012/04/26/mcdonalds_smoothie_equivalent_to_14_teaspoons_of_sugar_the_dish.html" target="_blank">McDonald's Real Fruit Smoothies also contain gelatin.</a>
Refined White Sugar
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Bone char Some companies use <a href="http://www.vrg.org/journal/vj97mar/973sugar.htm" target="_blank">bone char during the processing of refined white sugar.</a> However, not all types of refined sugar contains bone char. PETA notes that bone char can also be found in <a href="http://www.peta.org/about/faq/Are-animal-ingredients-included-in-white-sugar.aspx" target="_blank">some brown sugars, and they've even included a list of manufactures who are completely vegan.</a>
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Rennet — enzymes made from the stomachs of unweaned animals such as calves. If you love freshly grated Parmesan cheese with your pasta or risotto, we're sorry to deliver the bad news: This type of cheese is almost always made with rennet. <a href="http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/wordofmouth/2012/feb/27/no-parmesan-please-we-re-vegetarian" target="_blank">Some writers even argue why vegetarian recipes continue to include this cheese as a vegetarian ingredient.</a> Other hard cheese and gorgonzola <a href="http://www.vegsoc.org/page.aspx?pid=495" target="_blank">may also be culprits</a>.
Omega-3 Enriched Food And Drinks
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Fish oil Most Omega-3 enriched drinks or food or drinks such as margarine, olive oil and bread may contain fish rather than plant sources of Omega-3 fatty acids. This Tropicana juice <a href="http://www.tropicana.com/#/trop_products/productsLanding.swf?TropicanaPurePremium/55" target="_blank"> contains tilapia, sardines and anchovy. </a>
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Gelatin made from pig and cow hooves Vegans, you may want to skip out on this one. Many wines <a href="http://www.shape.com/healthy-eating/healthy-drinks/5-surprising-drinks-aren%E2%80%99t-vegan?page=2" target="_blank"> and even <a href="http://www.vrg.org/journal/vj97jan/971wine.htm" target="_blank">beers use gelatin</a> as a finishing agent.</a>
Taco Bell Cheese Quesadilla
<strong>WHAT'S IN IT?</strong> Eggs This is obviously a no-no for vegans, but any vegetarian who eats dairy, but not eggs, <a href="http://www.tacobell.ca/#Nutrition" target="_blank"> shoud be wary of some breads and tortillas, such as the ones made for this cheesy fast-food dish. </a>
Like this article? Follow our Facebook page Or follow us on Twitter Follow @HuffpostCaLiv