10/27/2013 04:14 EDT | Updated 12/27/2013 05:12 EST

Nunavut election day on Monday

The people of Nunavut will go to the polls on Monday for just the fourth time in the territory's history, to elect the 22 people who will be their next Members of the Legislative Assembly.

Two people have already been acclaimed because nobody else ran in those constituencies. Peter Taptuna will represent Kugluktuk and Jeannie Ugyuk will represent Netsilik.

The remaining 20 seats are up for grabs. With no political parties, the premier won't be known until the 22 members vote on a leader. And then that person will name his or her cabinet.

You can follow all the action on our CBC News live chat as soon as there's any news to report. We'll also be live-streaming our election special online, and we'll have an audio stream for those with connectivity issues. So be sure to bookmark this page and come back.

In the meantime, please visit our special CBC News  for riding profiles and all the information you need to make an informed decision.

Be sure to check out out  showing who all the candidates are in every constituency, and where they stand on the major policies.

Polls close at 8 p.m. ET

Polls in the Baffin region open at 10 a.m. on Monday morning. In the Kivalliq the polls open at 9 a.m., and at 8 a.m. in the Kitikmeot. Results will start trickling in as soon as the polls close at 8 p.m. ET. All polls will close then, regardless of when they opened.

Electoral officials are hoping for good weather across the territory to help make sure voter turnout will be high.

The last time Nunavut went to the polls in 2008, 71 per cent of eligible voters cast their ballots — far higher than the Canadian average.