11/12/2013 09:31 EST | Updated 01/23/2014 06:56 EST

Votes contested in nine Montreal electoral districts

A Quebec court judge will decide this morning whether to allow recounts in nine electoral districts where the municipal vote is being contested.

The deadline to ask for a recount was Monday at 4 p.m.

Denis Coderre, Montreal’s mayor-elect, is asking for recounts in five districts including St-Jacques in the Ville-Marie borough.

His star candidate there, Philippe Schnobb, lost to Projet Montreal leader Richard Bergeron’s candidate-designate, Janine Krieber, by 81 votes.

Bergeron , but said he would stay on as leader of the party for one or two years to ease the transition.

Projet Montreal is contesting the results in three districts and Marcel Côté’s Coalition Montreal in one.

According to the last count, Coderre has 27 of the 65 seats at City Hall, while Projet Montreal has 20, making it the official opposition. Coalition Montreal has six and Mélanie Joly’s party has four.

Contested electoral districts

Saint-Jacques (Ville-Marie) - city councillor Richard Bergeron - Projet Montreal (contested) Philippe Schnobb - Denis Coderre Difference: 81 votes

Saint-Sulpice (Ahuntsic-Cartierville) - city councillor
Pierre Desrochers - Denis Coderre (contested)
Martin Bazinet - Projet Montreal
Difference: 9 votes

Sault-au-Récollet (Ahunstic-Cartierville) - city councillor
Lorraine Pagé - MélanieJoly (contested)
Nathalie Hotte - Denis Coderre  
Difference: 8 votes

François-Perrault (Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension) - city councillor
Sylvain Ouellet - Projet Montreal (contested)
Claude Bricault - Denis Coderre
Difference: 11 votes

Joseph-Beaubien (Outremont) - borough councillor
Céline Forget - independent (contested)
Philipe Tomlinson - Projet Montreal
Difference: 11 votes

J.-Émery-Provost (Lachine) - borough councillor
Daniel Racicot - Équipe Dauphin Lachine (contested)
Catherine Ménard - Coalition Montreal
Difference: 37 votes

Cecil-P.-Newman (LaSalle) - borough councillor
Serge Declos - Barbe Team - Pro action LaSalle (contested)
Anju Dhillon - Denis Coderre
Difference: 61 votes

Cecil-P.-Newman (LaSalle) - borough councillor
Josée Troilo - Barbe Team - Pro action LaSalle (contested)
Dino Masanotti - Denis Coderre
Difference: 29 votes

Saint-Leonard East (Saint-Leonard) - city councillor
Domenico Moschella - Coalition Montreal (contested)
Roberta Perissini - Projet Montreal
Difference: 80 votes