01/20/2014 09:31 EST | Updated 03/22/2014 05:59 EDT

Ticats' Kent Austin finalist for CFL coach of the year

The Canadian Football League on Monday announced the finalists for the coach of the year award. 

Hamilton Tiger-Cats' Kent Austin, Saskatchewan Roughriders' Corey Chamblin, and Calgary Stampeders' John Hufnagel are in the running.

Austin gets the nomination in his first season behind the bench for the Tiger-Cats after leading the team to its first Grey Cup appearance since 1999.

It was an unusual season for Ticat fans from beginning to end. The team played every home game on the road in Guelph while Tim Hortons Field, the team's new stadium is being built.

With one of the youngest teams in the league, and playing their home games in a temporary stadium, the Ticats finished the season with a 10-8 record, good enough for second place in the East Division after starting the year with one win in their first five outings.

The Ticats then defeated the Toronto Argonauts, the reigning Grey Cup champions and their long-time rivals, on their home turf in the East final.

Austin won the coach of the year award in 2007 as head coach of the Roughriders. To win it again he'll have to beat the current head coach of the Roughriders, Chamblin, who has the advantage of being the 2013 Grey Cup champion.

Hufnagel led the Stampeders to a league-best 14-4 record. He has been nominated twice for the top coach award, winning in 2008.