NEWS

Closing Ceremony Time Nears, Here's What You Need To Know

02/21/2014 05:35 EST | Updated 02/21/2014 05:59 EST
Getty Images
2014 WINTER OLYMPIC GAMES -- 'Opening Ceremony' -- Pictured: Opening ceremony of the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics Games in Sochi, Russia on February 7, 2014 -- (Photo by: Paul Drinkwater/NBC/NBCU Photo Bank via Getty Images)

The Sochi 2014 Olympic Games have almost reached their end, but they won't conclude before a flashy closing ceremony.

The event will take place at Sochi's Fisht Stadium on Sunday, Nov. 23 at 20:14 local time (get it?). It will be shown live on CBC at 11 a.m. ET (8 a.m. PT), just after the gold medal hockey game between Canada and Sweden. It will play again in prime time at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT).

The United States is bringing a delegation to the ceremony that includes gay athletes Billie Jean King, Brian Boitano and Caitlin Cahow. Their presence is significant due to Russia's enforcement of anti-gay propaganda laws that have been protested around the world, The Globe and Mail reported.

People from all around the world will also have a final look at their Olympic athletes. Canada has not yet announced its flagbearer (speed skater Gilmore Junio and the goal post in the women's hockey final have been floated as candidates) but silver medal-winning hockey player Julie Chu will carry the flag for the United States.

Viewers can expect a musical performance featuring Korean artists. Pyeongchang in South Korea will host the next Winter Olympics in 2018. Soprano Jo Sumi, jazz singer Na Yoon Sun, musician Lee Seung Chul and pianist Yang Bang Eon are all expected to perform together, Yahoo! Singapore reported.

The ceremony is also expected to feature Filipino figure skater Audrey Alcazar, who will perform a cultural number, The International Business Times reported.

Like this article? Follow our Facebook page

Or follow us on Twitter

Also on HuffPost

Canada At Olympic Opening Ceremonies