02/26/2014 09:41 EST | Updated 04/28/2014 05:59 EDT

Taxpayer group hands out 'Teddy' awards for government waste

The Canadian Taxpayers Federation announces its annual picks for the worst in wasteful public spending. 

The 16th annual "Teddies Waste Awards" 'will 'honour' what the group considers the most egregious examples of government waste at the municipal, provincial and federal level. 

Last year's honourees included Standing Buffalo First Nation Chief Roger Redman, former Alberta tourism minister  Christine Cusanelli and the Toronto Maintenance and Skilled Trades Council.