03/26/2015 10:16 EDT | Updated 05/26/2015 05:59 EDT

Vancouver Millionaires won Stanley Cup 100 years ago

It was the first official Stanley Cup championship approved by the Cup's trustees and played under a new agreement between the National Hockey Association and the Pacific Coast Hockey Association.

And it was played in Vancouver.

In a best of five series held between March 22 and March 26 1915, the Vancouver Millionaires defeated the NHA's Ottawa Senators 3-0 for the Stanley Cup Championship — the first and only Cup the city has ever won.

The small hockey squad centred by Cyclone Fred Taylor, whose terrific speed on the ice earned him his nickname, won the Cup at the Denman Arena, the current site of the Westin Bayshore Hotel. 

Today, nothing marks the spot where that Stanley Cup was earned and awarded.

The Vancouver Canucks have honoured the Millionaires several times since, wearing the V on their jerseys in the shortened 2013 season, putting it on again to mark Vancouver's 100-year hockey legacy, and in March 2014 in a game against, fittingly enough, the Ottawa Senators, during the Heritage Classic.

When the Vancouver Canucks host the Colorado Avalanche tonight, they'll be in Millionaires' jerseys again — a small tribute to a little team's big legacy.