POLITICS

#JaysCurse: Harper, Mulcair, Trudeau Agree To Skip Games

09/05/2015 10:23 EDT | Updated 09/06/2015 02:59 EDT

Canada's three main party leaders have agreed to stop going to Toronto Blue Jays games so that this country's only major league baseball team can keep right on winning.

The Jays are fighting to win their division for the first time in more than 20 years, and convincing fans across the country that something special could happen this fall.

The deal was struck online Saturday, just a day after Liberal Leader Justin Trudeau attended a game with his family.

But the Jays got their keisters kicked by the Baltimore Orioles Friday night, 10-2.

Baseball has a rich history of superstitions, and the loss was enough to confirm for many on social media that the Jays are cursed whenever party leaders are in the stands.

NDP Leader Thomas Mulcair was the first of the leaders to attend a game during this campaign — and it was a big one.

Sporting a Jays jacket, Mulcair and his adult sons swung by Rogers Centre on Aug. 14. At the time, the Jays were hoping to win their 12th game in a row, which would set a club record.

The Jays lost to the New York Yankees, 4-3.

Conservative Leader Stephen Harper followed suit, attending a game on Aug. 31 with his wife and son. Harper also chatted with Jays Hall of Famer Roberto Alomar and released a video to Twitter.

The Jays lost to the Cleveland Indians, 4-2

Mulcair took to Twitter Friday night to address what was quickly emerging as the biggest controversy of this election.

And Trudeau tried to make a pact with his rivals Saturday morning.

By Saturday afternoon, all three party leaders had agreed on something.

And — wouldn't you know it — the Jays beat the Orioles Saturday, 5-1.

When asked earlier Friday if he feared the "Jays curse," Trudeau said he was focused on the fact that he got to bring his kids to their first major league baseball game.

Fair enough.

And since we would never want to deny leaders a chance to kick back with their family and enjoy the beautiful game of baseball, here's a list of Yankees games in the coming weeks.

Just to be safe, we've left out the games featuring the Jays.

Saturday, Sept. 5 - Yankees host Tampa Bay Rays

Sunday, Sept. 6 – Yankees host Tampa Bay Rays

Monday, Sept. 7 – Yankees host Baltimore Orioles

Tuesday, Sept. 7 – Yankees host Baltimore Orioles

Wednesday, Sept. 8 – Yankees host Baltimore Orioles

Monday, Sept. 14 – Yankees visit Tampa Bay Rays

Tuesday, Sept. 15 - Yankees visit Tampa Bay Rays

Wednesday, Sept. 16 –Yankees visit Tampa Bay Rays

Friday, Sept. 18 – Yankees visit New York Mets

Saturday, Sept. 19 - Yankees visit New York Mets

Sunday, Sept. 20 - Yankees visit New York Mets

Thursday, Sept. 24 – Yankees host Chicago White Sox

Friday, Sept. 25 - Yankees host Chicago White Sox

Saturday, Sept. 26 - Yankees host Chicago White Sox

Sunday, Sept. 27 - Yankees host Chicago White Sox

Monday, Sept. 28 – Yankees host Boston Red Sox

Tuesday, Sept. 29 - Yankees host Boston Red Sox

Wednesday, Sept. 30 - Yankees host Boston Red Sox

Thursday, Oct. 1 - Yankees host Boston Red Sox

Friday, Oct. 2 – Yankees visit Baltimore Orioles

Saturday, Oct. 3 - Yankees visit Baltimore Orioles

Sunday, Oct. 4 - Yankees visit Baltimore Orioles

Like Us On Facebook

ALSO ON HUFFPOST:

In Photos: Canada Election 2015