06/28/2011 03:50 EDT | Updated 08/28/2011 05:12 EDT

Hockey Hall Of Fame Inductees 2011: Gilmour, Mark Howe, Nieuwendyk, Belfour Are In

Flickr: That Angela

TORONTO - The long wait is over for a couple future members of the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Doug Gilmour, Mark Howe and Joe Nieuwendyk were called to the Hall on Tuesday along with Ed Belfour, the lone member of the 2011 class who gained entry in his first year of eligibility.

Howe, the son of Gordie Howe, endured the longest wait after retiring in 1995. Gilmour had been passed over since 2006 while Nieuwendyk missed out a year ago.

The wait was worth it.

"I was elated to have this dream come true," said Mark Howe. "To actually have my name in the Hall of Fame with my dad will mean so much to my family."

The 18-member selection committee didn't choose any builders or women.

Belfour sits third on the all-time wins list and captured plenty of hardware during his career — a Calder Trophy, two Vezina Trophies and the Stanley Cup.

Gilmour spent 20 years in the NHL and won the Stanley Cup in 1989. He finished with more than 1,400 career points.

Nieuwendyk captured the Stanley Cup with three different teams and won a gold medal with Canada at the 2002 Olympics. He also took home the Calder Trophy, Conn Smythe Trophy and twice cracked the 50-goal barrier.

Mark Howe switched from forward to defence early in his career and was a runner-up for the Norris Trophy on three occasions. He had three 20-goal seasons in the NHL.

The induction ceremony will be held on Nov. 14.