10/28/2011 09:34 EDT | Updated 12/28/2011 05:12 EST

Newfoundland And Labrador Cabinet: Premier Kathy Dunderdale Downsizes To 16 Ministers From 19


ST. JOHN'S, N.L. - Premier Kathy Dunderdale has trimmed the size of Newfoundland and Labrador's cabinet to 16 members from 19, saying the move is in line with her commitment to greater efficiency and prudent spending.

Dunderdale and her cabinet were sworn in during a ceremony Friday at Government House, just over two weeks after the Progressive Conservatives won a third consecutive majority in the Oct. 11 provincial election.

"It is very important to me that our government operates as efficiently as possible, while providing quality programs and services that meet the needs of the people of our province," she said in a release.

Dunderdale also announced the formation of two new departments — the Department of Advanced Education and Skills and the Department of Innovation, Business and Rural Development.

She also named three rookies to her cabinet — Nick McGrath at intergovernmental affairs and Labrador affairs, Paul Davis takes over Service Newfoundland and Labrador, and Keith Hutchings is minister of innovation, business and rural affairs.

Among Dunderdale's notable appointments, Thomas Marshall returns as finance minister and Felix Collins stays on as justice minister and attorney general.

Susan Sullivan is the province's new health minister and Clyde Jackman moves to education from fisheries.

Correction: A previous headline for this story indicated that the cabinet was being downsized to 19 ministers from 16. The cabinet previously contained 19 ministers and will now contain 16.