11/16/2011 01:00 EST | Updated 01/16/2012 05:12 EST

Quarterback Travis Lulay one of nine B.C. Lions named to all-star squad

TORONTO - Travis Lulay was voted the CFL's all-star quarterback Wednesday, leading a list of a league-high nine B.C. Lions named to the all-star team.

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers led the East Division with five players on the squad. The Montreal Alouettes were next with four selections, one more than the Calgary Stampeders.

The Toronto Argonauts and Edmonton Eskimos were next with two players apiece while the Hamilton Tiger-Cats and Saskatchewan Roughriders had one each.

Edmonton's Jerome Messam took one of the two all-star spots at running back, a day after the team announced he was done for the season with a knee injury suffered in the West semifinal. Montreal's Brandon Whitaker was the other running back.

The all-stars were selected by a combination of fan balloting, CFL head coaches, and the Football Reporters of Canada.

Lulay, the West finalist for the CFL's outstanding player award, nabbed the one all-star quarterback spot ahead of Montreal's Anthony Calvillo, the East nominee for outstanding player. The CFL's outstanding player awards are determined by different voters — fans don't vote.

Lulay completed 342 of 583 passes for 4,815 yards, 32 touchdowns and 11 interceptions during the season. Calvillo completed 404 of 654 passes for 5,251 yards, 32 touchdowns and eight interceptions.

The 2011 Gibson's Finest CFL Player Awards will be handed out in Vancouver on Nov. 24.


CFL all-stars

Quarterback — Travis Lulay, B.C.

Running backs — Jerome Messam, Edmonton; Brandon Whitaker, Montreal.

Centre — Angus Reid, B.C.

Guards — Brendon LaBatte, Winnipeg; Dimitri Tsoumpas, Calgary.

Tackles — Josh Bourke, Montreal; Jovan Olafioye, B.C.

Receivers — Nik Lewis, Calgary; Jamel Richardson, Montreal; Geroy Simon, B.C.; Fred Stamps, Edmonton.

Defensive ends — Justin Hickman, Hamilton; Odell Willis, Winnipeg.

Defensive tackles — Aaron Hunt, B.C., Khalif Mitchell, B.C.

Linebackers — Chip Cox, Montreal; Solomon Elimimian, B.C.; Jerrell Freeman, Saskatchewan.

Defensive backs — Korey Banks, B.C.; Jonathan Hefney, Winnipeg.

Cornerbacks — Jovon Johnson, Winnipeg; Byron Parker, Toronto.

Safety — Ian Logan, Winnipeg.

Punter — Burke Dales, Calgary.

Kicker — Paul McCallum, B.C.

Special Teams Player — Chad Owens, Toronto.