01/20/2012 03:40 EST | Updated 03/21/2012 05:12 EDT

Alberta to hold vote for 3 senators-in-waiting during spring provincial election

EDMONTON - Alberta Premier Alison Redford says voters will cast ballots for three senators-in-waiting during the spring provincial election.

Redford says the vote is key so that Alberta can stay at the forefront of championing a reformed Senate.

Seven candidates are looking to run under the Progressive Conservative banner while Vitor Marciano is flying the flag for the opposition Wildrose party.

The NDP, Liberals, and Alberta Party are not fielding candidates, and there is one Independent — former Liberal MLA Len Bracko.

The nominees' terms will be for six years or until the next senator-in-waiting vote.

Since 1990, the federal government has appointed three Alberta senators-in-waiting to the upper chamber, including Betty Unger earlier this month.