02/13/2012 04:00 EST | Updated 04/13/2012 05:12 EDT

The War of 1812 lasted 2 1/2 years; here is a timeline

Here is a timeline for the War of 1812:

June 18, 1812 — President James Madison signs a declaration of War against Britain.

Aug. 16, 1812 — Maj.-Gen. Sir Isaac Brock captures Detroit.

Oct. 13, 1812 — Brock stops an American invasion at the Battle of Queenston Heights, but is killed in the fighting.

April 27, 1813 — The Americans cross Lake Ontario and burn York (now Toronto), then the capital of Upper Canada.

May 1813 — American forces overrun the Niagara Peninsula and capture Niagara-on-the-Lake.

Oct. 5, 1813 — Tecumseh, leading of a native coalition allied with the British, is killed at Moraviantown

Oct. 26, 1813 — A badly outnumbered force of French Canadian militiamen soundly defeat an American invasion force aiming for Montreal at the Battle of Chateauguay.

Nov. 11, 1813 — Another outnumbered British force defeats another American invasion force at the Battle of Crysler's Farm.

December 1813 — The British retake the Niagara Peninsula.

July 25-26 1814 — Another American invasion force is thwarted at the Battle of Lundy's Lane.

Aug. 24, 1814 — A British force landed from the sea burns much of Washington.

Dec. 24, 1814 — Treaty of Ghent signed to end the war.

Jan. 8, 1815— Because transatlantic communications were so slow, the final major battle of the war was at New Orleans, two weeks after the treaty was signed.