05/03/2012 09:38 EDT | Updated 07/03/2012 05:12 EDT

Newfoundland Liberals to choose permanent leader at 2013 convention

ST. JOHN'S, N.L. - Newfoundland and Labrador's Liberal party will select a permanent leader at a convention next year.

The Opposition party says the convention will be held in conjunction with its annual general meeting from Nov. 15-17, 2013 in St. John's.

Dwight Ball was named the party's interim leader last December.

He replaced Kevin Aylward, who resigned after failing to win a seat in the provincial election months earlier.

Party president Judy Morrow says it's an exciting time of renewal for the party.

She says the November gathering will be an opportunity to choose a leader and discuss new policy.

The Progressive Conservatives hold 37 seats in the province's 48-seat legislature.

The Liberals hold six while the New Democrats hold five.