05/07/2012 04:53 EDT | Updated 07/07/2012 05:12 EDT

Alberta Premier Redford to fill key positions when announces new cabinet

EDMONTON - Alberta Premier Alison Redford will fill vacancies in the key portfolios of finance, energy, and agriculture Tuesday when she is expected to announce her new cabinet.

If she keeps the cabinet at 21 members, five replacements are needed due to resignations or defeats in last month's election.

The remaining 16 won their ridings and political scientist Keith Brownsey said he doesn't expect a major shakeup.

"They've proven loyal, they've won their seats and you want to reward those people — but then that's just one factor in all of this," said Brownsey, with Mount Royal University in Calgary.

Former energy minister Ted Morton, who was defeated by the Wildrose party in Chestermere-Rocky View, was the highest profile cabinet casualty. He was taken out as the Wildrose marched through the rural south, taking every seat and leaving Redford's Progressive Conservatives with two MLAs in the region, both in Lethbridge.

Tory southerner Evan Berger, the agriculture minister, and Jack Hayden, the tourism minister, also went down to defeat.

In the north, former transportation minister Ray Danyluk was defeated by the Wildrose in the riding of Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills.

Finance minister Ron Liepert, from Calgary, did not run again.

This will be the second time Redford has picked a cabinet. The first group was selected seven months ago, after Redford won the party leadership.

Brownsey said Redford knows the drill.

"She's got to balance geography, competence, ethnicity, urban-rural, social conservative and fiscal conservative," he said.

"It's just not simply picking the best or the most competent."

She has 60 members to choose from in the 87-seat legislature, a third of whom are sitting in the house for the first time.

Brownsey said he expects veterans like Doug Horner to remain as deputy premier and president of Treasury Board, and Dave Hancock to stay in place as house leader and minister of Human Services.

At dissolution, Calgary was represented by Redford, Liepert, Service Alberta Minister Manmeet Bhullar, and Solicitor General Jonathan Denis.

Brownsey said there is high-level Calgary talent in the wings, including former city councillor Ric McIver, oilpatch executive Donna Kennedy-Glans, and Ken Hughes, the former head of Alberta Health Services.

All five Edmonton and area cabinet ministers were returned by voters. Along with Horner and Hancock, Thomas Lukaszuk (Education) is back, as is Fred Horne (Health) and Heather Klimchuk (Culture).

The remaining seven who held cabinet posts from north and central Alberta are back: Jeff Johnson (Infrastructure), George VanderBurg (Seniors), Frank Oberle (Sustainable Resource Development), Cal Dallas (Intergovernmental Affairs), Diana McQueen (Environment), Doug Griffiths (Municipal Affairs) and Verlyn Olson (Justice).

Greg Weadick of Lethbridge-West held the advanced education minister's job and was also returned by voters.

There may be more women in cabinet. McQueen, Klimchuk, and Redford were the only women in the last group.

Women make up 30 per cent of the current legislature and Redford has members she can draw on. Along with Kennedy-Glans, there is former TV anchor Sandra Jansen and municipal councillors Cathy Olesen, Jacquie Fenske and Maureen Kubinec.

The house is expected to sit for a few days later this month to pick a new Speaker to replace the retired Ken Kowalski, and then rise for the summer.

Redford will be facing three opposition parties, led by newcomer Danielle Smith and the 16 other members of her Wildrose party caucus.

The Liberals, under leader Raj Sherman, have five seats and Brian Mason's NDP have four.