09/23/2012 09:59 EDT | Updated 09/24/2018 09:25 EDT

England wins toss and sends India in to bat first at World Twenty20

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka - England captain Stuart Broad won the toss and asked India to bat first in a World Twenty20 match against India at R. Premadasa Stadium on Sunday.

Both teams have advanced to the Super Eights stage having beaten low-ranked Afghanistan in Group A.

England bolstered its pace attack by calling up Tim Bresnan who is also a hard hitter in place of left-arm spinner Samit Patel, who played in the last match against Afghanistan.

India rested top players Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan and Ravichandran Ashwin and called up spinners Harbhajan Singh and Piyush Chawla as well as seamer Ashok Dinda for a game that will have no consequence.

Harbhajan returns to play for India after one year out following a run of poor form. He last played a Twenty20 international in June 2011.



England: Stuart Broad (captain), Craig Kieswetter, Alex Hales, Luke Wright, Eoin Morgan, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, Steven Finn, Jade Dernbach.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Ashok Dinda.