10/05/2012 07:05 EDT | Updated 12/05/2012 05:12 EST

Dave Jamieson named president of National Lacrosse League's Edmonton Rush

EDMONTON - The Edmonton Rush named Dave Jamieson as the team's new president on Friday.

He joined the National Lacrosse League franchise after spending 14 years with the CFL's Edmonton Eskimos. Jamieson, an Edmonton native, most recently served as the Eskimos' vice-president of communications and broadcast.

"We took a great deal of time selecting the right person to fill the role of team president and I could not be more proud to have found that person in Dave," team owner Bruce Urban said in a release.

"Dave’s commitment to the sports community of Edmonton has been long and noteworthy and we expect this to be a great next chapter in that history."

Jamieson succeeds Gord Sawyer, who left the team last July.

Earlier in the week, the Rush selected Mark Matthews with the No. 1 overall pick in the 2012 NLL Entry Draft. The NLL regular season begins in January.