01/26/2013 10:08 EST | Updated 03/28/2013 05:12 EDT

Ontario Liberal Leadership Convention: All The Voting Results

TORONTO - Ontario is getting its first female and openly gay premier after former education minister Kathleen Wynne was elected the new leader of the province's Liberal party.

Here is how the voting progressed.

First Ballot:

Sandra Pupatello: 599

Kathleen Wynne: 597

Gerard Kennedy: 281

Charles Sousa: 222

Harinder Takhar: 235

Eric Hoskins: 150

Post-vote developments — Hoskins is automatically dropped off the second ballot after placing last and throws his support behind Wynne. Takhar withdraws from the race and endorses Pupatello, however his announcement comes too late to have his name removed from the second ballot.


Second Ballot:

Sandra Pupatello: 817

Kathleen Wynne: 750

Gerard Kennedy: 285

Charles Sousa: 203

Harinder Takhar: 18

Post-vote developments — Sousa withdraws from the race and endorses Wynne. Minutes later, Kennedy also drops out of the race and endorses Wynne but says he has freed his delegates to vote as they wish on the third ballot.


Third Ballot:

Kathleen Wynne: 1,150

Sandra Pupatello: 866

Post-vote developments — Wynne becomes the new leader of the Ontario Liberal party and is set to become the province's first female and openly gay premier. She vows to work with all her fellow leadership contenders to strengthen the party and make the province's Liberal minority government work.


Also on HuffPost

Ontario Liberal Leadership Convention