03/23/2013 06:06 EDT | Updated 05/23/2013 05:12 EDT

Stations Named For Tri-Cities Evergreen SkyTrain (VIDEO)

Government officials gathered in Coquitlam Saturday to announce the Evergreen rapid transit line is on track for completion in 2016 and the station names have been finalized.

TransLink's SkyTrain line through the Tri-Cities region will be made of underground, at-grade, and elevated track portions, and will connect to the existing SkyTrain tracks at Lougheed Station.

The seven stations are in Burnaby, Coquitlam and Port Moody, and the final names follow the project's working names for the most part.

Moody Centre Station replaces the working name "Port Moody Station," while Inlet Centre Station replaces the name "Ioco Station," and Lafarge Lake-Douglas Station takes the place of "Douglas College Station."

Officials also announced work has begun or is underway in making changes to bus loops, pedestrian walkways and parking areas at Coquitlam Central Station, Moody Centre Station and Lougheed Station.

Utility work and guideway construction will begin later this year at most of the other stations.

Officials also announced that construction is now beginning in Port Moody in preparation for boring a two-kilometre tunnel through to the west side of Clarke Road near Kemsley Avenue in Coquitlam.

The tunnel boring is set to begin in March 2014.

Once the $1.43 billion Evergreen line is completed, Metro Vancouver's SkyTrain system will be the longest rapid transit line in Canada.

Also on HuffPost

Photo gallery The World's Most Beautiful Train Stations See Gallery