05/28/2013 06:48 EDT | Updated 05/28/2013 07:41 EDT

Christy Clark Loses Seat As Final BC Election Votes Are Tallied


It's official: Christy Clark has lost her seat in the B.C. Legislature.

Elections BC completed the final tally of votes in the Vancouver-Point Grey riding Tuesday, and the result gives the former head of the BC Civil Liberties Association, David Eby the seat with a margin of 1,063 and 47.59 per cent of the vote.

Following her election as leader of the BC Liberals, Clark won a by-election in the riding previously held by ex-premier Gordon Campbell, beating Eby by 564 votes.

It is expected that a Liberal MLA will stand aside to force a by-election in a safe seat, to allow Clark to take her seat in the legislature as soon as is practicable.

Elsewhere, in Burnaby-Lougheed controversial NDP candidate Jane Shin has beaten Ken Kramer of the BC Liberals to take the seat by 743 votes. Shin hit the headlines during the election campaign when a racist comment she made online 11 years ago surfaced and she was forced to apologize for referring to Chinese-Canadians as “chinkasauruses”.

Shin also came under fire for apparently misrepresenting her medical credentials and for refusing to answer her critics.

In Coquitlam-Maillardville Elections BC will be pursuing a judicial recount after final votes cast left only a 35 vote margin between the NDP's Selina May Robinson (9,928) and Liberal candidate Steve Kim (9,893).

The threshold for requesting a judicial recount is 43 votes, Elections BC confirmed in a press release.

Results of the final voting tallies for the remaining outstanding B.C. ridings are expected by end of day Wednesday.

Also on HuffPost

BC Election Night Photos