06/13/2013 11:31 EDT | Updated 06/13/2013 11:49 EDT

Polaris Prize 2013: Long List Includes Metric, A Tribe Called Red, Tegan and Sara


The 2013 Polaris Prize long list was announced today, June 13, in Montreal, revealing the forty Canadian albums that made it through the first round of the $30,000 critic-voted best Canadian album award.

“This year's Long List is all over the map, but in the best possible way,” said Polaris Music Prize founder Steve Jordan in a press release. “A lot of our jury expressed that this was the most difficult Polaris ballot they’ve ever submitted. The results of this careful and passionate deliberation will make for some truly engaging listening for music."

Indeed the music prize long list is incredibly eclectic, a testament to the diversity of Canadian music, and ranges from the popular electro-rock of Metric and noise-rock of Metz to electric powwow crew A Tribe Called Red and turntablist Kid Koala to the art-pop of The Luyas and the pop-pop of Tegan and Sara. While not entirely unexpected, the well received Carly Rae Jepsen album "Kiss" was not on the list.

The top ten Short List will be announced on July 16 and the final Polaris gala, in which the winner will be decided in a backroom vote during the actual event, is September 23 at the Carlu in Toronto.

A jury of over 200 music critics, broadcasters and bloggers pick the long and short lists, while eleven of them are named to the grand jury to select the $30,000 Album of the Year winner. Past Polaris Prize winners included Feist in 2012), Arcade Fire in 2011, Caribou in 2008 and Final Fantasy (Owen Pallett) in 2006.

2013 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation

Alaclair Ensemble – Les maigres blancs d’Amérique du Noir

ANCIIENTS – Heart of Oak

The Besnard Lakes – Until In Excess, Imperceptible UFO

Louis-Jean Cormier – Le Treizième Étage


Mac DeMarco – 2

Evening Hymns – Spectral Dusk

Hannah Georgas – Hannah Georgas

Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!

Chilly Gonzales – Solo Piano II

Jim Guthrie – Takes Time

Hayden – Us Alone

Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite

KEN mode – Entrench

Kid Koala – 12 bit Blues

Kobo Town – Jumbie in the Jukebox

Pierre Lapointe – Punkt

Lee Harvey Osmond – The Folk Sinner

Les soeurs Boulay – Le poids des confettis

Corb Lund – Cabin Fever

The Luyas – Animator

Majical Cloudz – Impersonator

Metric – Synthetica


Danny Michel with the Garifuna Collective – Black Birds Are Dancing Over Me

AC Newman – Shut Down The Streets

Old Man Luedecke – Tender is The Night

Lindi Ortega – Cigarettes & Truckstops

Peter Peter – Une version améliorée de la tristesse

Purity Ring – Shrines

Rah Rah – The Poet’s Dead

Rhye – Woman

Daniel Romano – Come Cry With Me

Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light

Suuns – Images du futur

Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob

Al Tuck – Stranger at the Wake

Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends On This Kiss

Young Galaxy – Ultramarine