06/17/2013 03:39 EDT | Updated 08/17/2013 05:12 EDT

Canada sticks to regulars as it names World Cup sevens rugby team

TORONTO - Flanker Nanyak Dala will captain Canada at the IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament later this month in Moscow.

The Canadian men are in a pool with World Series Sevens champion New Zealand, the U.S. and Georgia.

Dala, Sean Duke, Ciaran Hearn, Nathan Hirayama, Harry Jones, Phil Mack, John Moonlight and Taylor Paris have all been Canadian sevens regulars this season. They are joined by Justin Douglas, Thyssen De Goede, Lucas Hammond and Mike Fuailefau, who have also seen action.

"All the selected players have been on the circuit this year and are rewarded by going to the World Cup," head coach Geraint John said in a statement Monday. "We felt this was important as they have trained hard throughout the year, know the systems and have gained great success during the year and therefore deserve to be rewarded for their efforts and success."

Rugby Canada said Chauncey O'Toole, Jeff Hassler, Tyler Ardron and Conor Trainor will not travel due to contractual or health issues.

Also considered were Phil MacKenzie (Sale Sharks) and DTH van der Merwe (Glasgow Warriors) but they were ruled out for injury reasons. Matt Evans (Cornish Pirates) was also up for selection.

Hearn, Paris, Dala and Fuailefau are currently in Nagoya preparing for Canada's Pacific Nations Cup 15-man test against Japan on Wednesday.

The sevens squad will assemble June 20 in Burnaby, B.C., before heading to Russia for the June 28-30 tournament.

Canada secured its core status for next year on the HSBC Sevens World Series when it finished 12th on the circuit this year. The Americans placed 11th.

With 12 men’s and 12 women’s teams competing at the Olympic Games 2016 in Rio de Janeiro,

The Moscow tournament, which features 24 men's and 16 women's teams, comes three years before sevens rugby makes its Olympic debut in Rio de Janeiro, with 12 teams in each competition.



Nanyak Dala (capt.), Castaway Wanderers, Saskatoon; Thyssen De Goede, James Bay AA, Victoria; Justin Douglas, Abbotsford RFC, Abbotsford, B.C.; Sean Duke, UVic Vikes, Vancouver; Mike Fuailefau, Castaway Wanderers, Victoria; Lucas Hammond, Toronto Nomads, Toronto; Ciaran Hearn, Castaway Wanders, Conception Bay, N.L.; Nathan Hirayama, UVic Vikes, Richmond, B.C.; Harry Jones, Capilano RFC, West Vancouver; Phil Mack, UVic Vikes, Victoria; John Moonlight, James Bay AA, Pickering, Ont.; Taylor Paris, SU Agen Lot-et-Garonne (France), Barrie, Ont.

Head Coach: Geraint John.

Assistant Coach: Kieran Crowley.

Manager: Brian Hunter.