06/25/2013 01:06 EDT | Updated 08/24/2013 05:12 EDT

Cinderella has magical night at Toronto's Dora Awards

It was a fairy-tale ending for Young People's Theatre Monday night, as its musical Cinderella (a RATical retelling) triumphed with seven trophies at the Dora Mavor Moore Awards in Toronto.

The production, which offers a modern tweak to the iconic children's story, was named outstanding production in the Doras' musical theatre division, as well as outstanding ensemble. It also won awards for its direction and a host of achievements for its design.

Hosted by comedic performers Matt Baram and Naomi Snieckus at the St. Lawrence Centre for the Arts, the annual Toronto theatre honours saw kudos spread out to many shows, with 48 awards awarded to different productions and troupes.

- Buddies in Bad Times leads troupes vying for Toronto theatre awards

The one-man play Obaaberima, staged by Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, picked up three Doras, including for outstanding production in the general theatre division.

Also earning a trio of trophies was VideoCabaret for its The War of 1812: The History of the Village of the Small Huts, 1912-15. Its awards included outstanding ensemble performance in the independent theatre division.

Other multiple award-winners included:

- The new play Someone Else (Crow's Theatre)

- Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead (Soulpepper Theatre)

- The Little Years (Tarragon)

- The operas Dialogues des Carmélites and Il Trovatore (Canadian Opera Company)

Longtime theatre administrator, actor, director, writer and teacher Malcolm Black was also honoured with a special prize: the Silver Ticket Award, which celebrates an individual who has excelled in his or her theatre career while also nurturing the industry's development.

Mirvish musical The Wizard of Oz was crowned the audience-choice winner for outstanding production, after online voting.

A complete list of winners is posted at the website of the Toronto Alliance for the Performing Arts, which administers the Dora Awards. Founded in 1978, the Dora Mavor Moore Awards are named after the famed Toronto theatre maven and Canadian stage pioneer.