09/08/2013 08:55 EDT | Updated 11/08/2013 05:12 EST

Australia's Rohan Dennis wins inaugural Tour of Alberta by 18 seconds

CALGARY - Australia's Rohan Dennis won the inaugural Tour of Alberta after finishing fifth in the fifth and final stage Sunday to edge American Brent Bookwalter by 18 seconds.

Dennis, riding for Garmin-Sharp, won the third stage Friday to take the lead in the six-day event. Bookwalter rides for BMC.

Slovakia's Peter Sagan of Cannondale won the fifth stage, finishing the 80-mile (129-kilometre) trip from Okotoks to downtown Calgary in 2:42:20. He also won the prologue and the first stage.