09/14/2013 12:51 EDT | Updated 11/13/2013 05:12 EST

Six Nations Chiefs defeat Victoria Shamrocks to win first Mann Cup in 17 years

VICTORIA - The Six Nations Chiefs' 17-year championship drought at the Mann Cup is over.

Cody Jamieson scored a hat trick and had four assists as Six Nations defeated the Victoria Shamrocks 8-5 on Friday to win the best-of-seven series 4-2 at Canada's senior lacrosse championship.

Kasey Beirnes had two goals for the Chiefs, while Steven Keogh, Colin Doyle and Craig Point added singles.

Cory Conway scored twice for Victoria, with Nolan Heavenor, Scott Ranger and Jeff Shattler rounding out the scoring.

Brandon Miller made 40 saves for Six Nations, while Matt Vinc stopped 33 shots for Victoria.

Beirnes opened the scoring on the power play 1:46 into the first period. A goal by Jamieson made it 2-0, but Conway scored both of his goals to tie the game before the end of the period.

Six Nations once again went on the attack in the second with goals by Keogh and Beirnes, but Victoria replied with three of their own to take the lead.

The Chiefs' offence exploded in the third, highlighted by a pair of goals from Jamieson to secure Six Nations' first Mann Cup title since 1996.

That last championship, won in a 4-0 sweep against Victoria, was the last of three straight by the Chiefs.