10/21/2013 05:15 EDT | Updated 12/21/2013 05:12 EST

DSquared2, Erdem, Jeanne Beker among nominees for Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards

TORONTO - The twin designers behind DSquared2 are double nominees at the first-ever Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards.

Toronto-born brothers Dean and Dan Caten, who helm the famed Milan-based label, are being recognized in the outstanding achievement category, alongside Montreal-based designers Denis Gagnon and Marie Saint Pierre and womenswear designers Lida Baday, Wayne Clark and David Dixon.

The Catens are also nominated for the international Canadian designer award, which honours those who have achieved success abroad and brought attention to Canadian talent on the world stage. Fellow nominees include Mark Fast, Erdem Moralioglu, Jason Wu and Jeremy Laing.

Laing is also up for designer of the year honours in womenswear, alongside Gagnon, Kimberley Newport-Mimran of Pink Tartan, Christie Smythe and Andrea Lenczner of Smythe, and Kirk Pickersgill and Stephen Wong of Greta Constantine.

Menswear nominees include Philip Sparks, Davidson Manaloto of Wings + Horns, Philippe Dubuc, Travis Taddeo and Shawn Hewson of Bustle.

In the accessories category, nominees include Dexter and Byron Peart of WANT Les Essentiels de la Vie, Ela and Martin Aldorsson of Ela Handbags, shoe designer John Fleuvog, designer and stylist Jenny Bird and jewelry designer Maryam Keyhani.

Among the emerging talent nominees are: Sid Neigum, Chloe and Parris Gordon of Beaufille, design duo Danielle Martin and Pao Lim of Martin Lim, Vancouver Island's Eliza Faulkner, Toronto's Laura Siegel, and Sarah Stevenson, winner of the Toronto Fashion Incubator's New Label competition.

Canadian catwalkers will also be in the spotlight at the CAFAs with Linda Evangelista, Shalom Harlow, Coco Rocha, Yasmin Warsame and Daria Werbowy among the nominees in the model category.

Rocha is also up for the Canadian style award, which will recognize a recipient who embodies the spirit of the country and serves as an unofficial ambassador for homegrown fashion and culture. The Toronto-born, Richmond, B.C.-raised model is nominated alongside Joe Mimran of Joe Fresh, Zoomer Magazine editor-in-chief Suzanne Boyd, Lisa Tant of Holt Renfrew and fashion and media maven Jeanne Beker.

Beker will be a guaranteed winner at the upcoming CAFAs. The Fashion Television channel host was previously announced as the recipient of a benchmark career award at the inaugural gala.

The Image Maker will be presented to a Canadian photographer or filmmaker who has made a significant impact within the Canadian industry. Nominees include Max Abadian, Gabor Jurina, Chris Nicholls, fashion blogger and photographer Tommy Ton, and Erin Kleinberg, Stephanie Mark and Jake Rosenberg of fashion blog The Coveteur.

Stylist of the year nominees include: George Antonopolous, Susie Sheffman, Liz Cabral, Peter Papapetrou and Cary Tauben.

The Canadian Arts & Fashion Awards gala is slated to take place Feb. 1, 2014 at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto.