04/08/2014 10:02 EDT | Updated 06/08/2014 05:59 EDT

$65K Griffin Poetry Prize unveils 2014 short list

Finalists for the Griffin Poetry Prize, among the world's most lucrative poetry honours, is being announced in Toronto this morning.

Created by businessman Scott Griffin, the annual prize awards $65,000 each to an international and Canadian poet.

An international judging panel — this year comprising Robert Bringhurst of Canada, Jo Shapcott of the U.K. and American C.D. Wright — typically reads hundreds of poetry collections submitted from around the world.

The two winners will be announced at a gala on June 5.

Past recipients have included Dionne Brand, Karen Solie and Ken Babstock.

Click here for a link to live CBC Books updates from the announcement.