04/22/2014 11:57 EDT | Updated 06/22/2014 05:59 EDT

Lady Byng finalists: Marleau, O'Reilly, St. Louis

Forwards Patrick Marleau of the San Jose Sharks, Colorado’s Ryan O'Reilly and Martin St. Louis of the
New York Rangers were named the three finalists for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, the league announced Tuesday.

The award represents the “player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

Marleau, a Lady Byng finalist for the second time, posted his seventh 30-goal season in the past nine years, while helping San Jose hit the 100-point mark for the seventh time during that stretch.

O’Reilly scored a career-high 64 points and led the Avalanche in goals (28), power-play goals (nine) and game winners (tied with six). He was also assessed only one minor penalty during the season, joining Butch Goring of the L.A. Kings in 1977-78 as the only players to receiver two or fewer penalty minutes in a season of 80 games or more.

St. Louis, in search of a second straight Lady Byng Trophy and fourth in the last five years, registered his seventh 30-goal season. He was assessed just 10 penalty minutes — fewest among the NHL top 20 scorers.

The winner will be announced at the June 24 NHL Awards in Las Vegas, with CBC’s George Stroumboulopoulos hosting the event.