05/04/2014 02:57 EDT | Updated 07/04/2014 05:59 EDT

Birhanu Mekonnen wins BMO Vancouver marathon

Despite the weather, thousands turned out to see this year's BMO Vancouver Marathon and for the third year in a row, the race roster was sold out with 5,000 runners.

The winning time in this year's marathon was 2 hours and 21  minutes set by Birhanu Mekonen of  Washington DC, who finished first, six seconds before Gilbert Kiptoo from Kenya.

David Nilsson  of  Sweden came in third.

B.C.'s own Kimberley Doerksen of Gibsons was the first woman to cross the line with a time of  2:37:00. The top B.C. finisher for the men was Ryan Day of Stuxwtews, B.C. who placed sixth.

Paul Kimugul won the Half Marathon with a record breaking time of just over 1:02.  Last weekend, Kimgul also won the Vancouver Sun Run.