06/05/2014 01:52 EDT | Updated 06/16/2017 01:01 EDT

Saskatchewan's Wall shuffles his cabinet but most of his top ministers stay put

REGINA - Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall has shuffled his cabinet, but many of the most high-profile portfolios are not changing hands.

The retiring Ken Krawetz is still finance minister, Dustin Duncan is still health minister and Don Morgan remains in education.

Bill Boyd is staying on as economy minister, while Lyle Stewart retains agriculture, Gordon Wyant remains in justice, Jim Reiter remains in government relations and Christine Tell stays in corrections and policing.

Longtime cabinet minister Don McMorris is moving from highways to minister of Crowns and the liquor authority. Wall said he wants McMorris in that portfolio as the government muses about allowing more private liquor stores.

The shuffle comes after announcements by several high-profile members of the Saskatchewan Party government that they will not be running in the next provincial election expected in April 2016.

Wall has committed to leading the party — which has been in power since 2007 — into that vote. But the retirements mean it will be without any of the former Liberals who helped found the group with the Tories in the late 1990s.

Four ministers were dropped from cabinet.

Wall's close friend Ken Cheveldayoff is being replaced in environment by cabinet newcomer Scott Moe . Cheveldayoff will hold the title of government house leader, but that is not an official cabinet post.

June Draude has been replaced in social services by Donna Harpauer, who moves over from Crowns. Draude is one of the ministers who have announced they won't seek re-election.

She recently found herself under fire in the legislature for using a car service in London that cost $3,600 over four days and for $200 spent on lunch with a friend. The expenses were filed by the cabinet secretary and the clerk of executive council, who was also on the trip last June. Draude had said she wasn't aware of the costs. The cabinet secretary has since repaid the expenses.

Rob Norris is replaced as advanced education minister by Kevin Doherty. Norris had also announced he will not seek re-election

Randy Weekes is no longer rural health minister, replaced by Tim McMillan.

There are still 18 ministers including the premier, but six new legislative secretaries have been added.

Note to readers: This is a corrected story. An earlier version said Ken Cheveldayoff was a former finance minister.