06/13/2014 02:03 EDT | Updated 08/12/2014 05:59 EDT

Prominent winners and losers in the Ontario election

Here is a list of the prominent winners and losers that emerged after Ontario's June 12 election.


Kathleen Wynne — the Liberal premier won her Toronto riding and her party won a majority government.

Tim Hudak — the Progressive Conservative leader won his riding but said he was stepping down after his party's loss.

Andrea Horwath — the NDP leader won her riding but with a Liberal majority government she will no longer hold the balance of power.

Charles Sousa — the finance minister won his riding.

Liz Sandals — the education minister hung on to her riding.

Deb Matthews — the health minister was re-elected.

Christine Elliott — the deputy Progressive Conservative leader kept her seat.

Vic Fedeli — the PC finance critic won his riding.

Gilles Bisson — the only remaining member of the Bob Rae NDP government was re-elected.


Mike Schreiner — the Green Party leader failed to get elected.

Teresa Piruzza — the Liberal minister of children and youth services lost her seat.

Doug Holyday — the PC candidate and Toronto's former deputy mayor did not hang on to his seat.

Rob Leone — the PC candidate in a long-held Tory riding lost his seat.

Rosario Marchese — the veteran NDP MPP lost his seat.