This article exists as part of the online archive for HuffPost Canada, which closed in 2021.

Polaris Prize 2014: Drake, Arcade Fire, Chromeo Make Canadian Music Prize Long List

This year's Polaris Music Prize Long List was announced this morning in Calgary with some newcomers and some old pros vying for this year's award.

The 40 albums range from established international artists such as Drake and Arcade Fire for "Nothing Was The Same" and "Reflektor," respectively, to artists such as Quebec metal outfit Gorguts, Inuit singer Tanya Tagaq and the inaugural year's winner Owen Pallett.

Notable absences include Ryan Hemsworth, whose "Guilt Trips" won this year's Juno Award for best electronic album, and Broken Social Scene ringleader Kevin Drew's solo album "Darlings."

The announcement featured TSN personality Dave Hodge, Elliott Brood's Mark Sasso, Operators/Divine Fits member Dan Boeckner (previously nominated as a member of Wolf Parade and Handsome Furs) as well as Calgary mayor Naheed Nenshi. Basia Bulat performed after the long list was read.

The nominations resulted in 189 different albums mentioned from 190 journalists, critics and bloggers from across the country. The long list will be curtailed into a ten-album Short List which will be announced on July 15. The winner will be named during a gala ceremony at Toronto's Carlu set for Sept. 22. Last year's winner was Godspeed You Black Emperor for "Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!"

Here are the 40 Long List nominees for this year's Polaris Music Prize (in alphabetical order) after the slideshow:

2014 Polaris Music Prize Long List:

Arcade Fire – Reflektor

AroarA – In The Pines

Austra – Olympia

Philippe B – Ornithologie, la nuit


Basia Bulat – Tall Tall Shadow

Chromeo – White Women

Cousins – The Halls Of Wickwire

Cowboy Junkies / Various Artists – The Kennedy Suite

The Darcys – Warring

Dead Obies - Montréal $ud

Mac DeMarco – Salad Days

DIANA – Perpetual Surrender

Drake – Nothing Was The Same

Freedom Writers – NOW

Fresh Snow – I

Frog Eyes – Carey’s Cold Spring

Gorguts – Colored Sands

Tim Hecker – Virgins

Jimmy Hunt – Maladie d’amour

Jessy Lanza – Pull My Hair Back

Kalle Mattson – Someday, The Moon Will Be Gold

Moonface – Julia With Blue Jeans On

Mounties – Thrash Rock Legacy

Odonis Odonis – Hard Boiled Soft Boiled

Owen Pallett – In Conflict

Pink Mountaintops – Get Back


The Sadies – Internal Sounds

Shad – Flying Colours

Shooting Guns – Brotherhood Of The Ram

Solids – Blame Confusion

Rae Spoon – My Prairie Home

The Strumbellas – We Still Move On Dance Floors

Tanya Tagaq – Animism

Thus Owls – Turning Rocks

Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams

Chad VanGaalen – Shrink Dust

Bry Webb – Free Will


Suggest a correction
This article exists as part of the online archive for HuffPost Canada. Certain site features have been disabled. If you have questions or concerns, please check our FAQ or contact