This article exists as part of the online archive for HuffPost Canada, which closed in 2021.

Argentina's Messi vomits in World Cup final

RIO DE JANEIRO - Argentina captain Lionel Messi vomited during the World Cup final, as he has done on many occasions both for Argentina and club team Barcelona.

It was during the first half against Germany that Messi doubled over and vomited on the pitch.

Despite several medical tests, Argentina and Barcelona team doctors haven't been able to find the cause of Messi's problem.

The striker has played it down, saying it's just something that happens to him in training, during matches and even when he's at home.

It doesn't appear to affect his performance, though. Messi has gone on to score in several matches after throwing up on the pitch.

Suggest a correction
This article exists as part of the online archive for HuffPost Canada. Certain site features have been disabled. If you have questions or concerns, please check our FAQ or contact support@huffpost.com.