07/18/2014 12:26 EDT | Updated 09/16/2014 05:59 EDT

Dickson leads Canada past Iroquois 12-6 at world field lacrosse championships

COMMERCE CITY, Colo. - Curtis Dickson had a natural hat trick in the third quarter and added a fourth goal in the final two minutes of play as Canada rallied past the Iroquois Nationals 12-6 on Thursday to advance to the world field lacrosse championship final.

Canada will play the United States in the tournament's title game on Saturday night, while the Iroquois will play Australia in the third-place game earlier in the day.

Mark Matthews, Zack Greer, Adam Jones, Kevin Crowley, Geoff Snider, Jordan MacIntosh, Jordan Hall and Cam Flint also scored for Canada.

Lyle Thompson and Randy Staats both had a pair of goals for the Iroquois, while Miles Thompson and Zach Miller also found the back of the net.

The Iroquois — a team that includes First Nations from Canada and the United States — built a 4-1 lead after the first quarter, but were held without a goal in the second and third periods.

It was the Iroquois' first world field lacrosse championships in eight years after they were barred from entering the United Kingdom in 2010 for using unrecognized travel documents when the tournament was held in Manchester, England.

Earlier, David Lawson had a team-high six points on four goals and two assists as the United States routed Australia 22-3 in the other semifinal.

The U.S. improved to a perfect 6-0 in the tournament with the win and controlled play from the start. The U.S. scored the first seven goals of the game and limited Australia to just 11 shots total.

Brendan Mundorf, Paul Rabil, Max Seibald and Kevin Leveille each scored three goals.

Matt Diver, Nigel Morton and Anson Carter all scored for Australia.

Scotland's Jimmy McBride scored in overtime in a 10-9 victory over Japan. The victory assures Scotland of its best finish ever and moves it into the top division for the 2018 world field lacrosse championship in Manchester, England.

England held on to its top division spot by beating Israel 10-9 in overtime on a goal by Nicholas Watson.

Other results include: Czech Republic 8, Switzerland 2; Slovakia 6, Belgium 3; Norway 11, Austria 10 (OT); Thailand 14, France 4; Spain 9, Russia 5; Uganda 11, Argentina 5; China 16, Korea 15; Turkey 9, Mexico 4; Finland 15, Netherlands 6; Italy 15, Poland 14 (2 OT); Ireland 12, New Zealand 10; Wales 16, Latvia 15 (2 OT); Hong Kong 14, Bermuda 13; Germany 13, Sweden 10; Colombia 11, Costa Rica 4 (37th place game)