08/28/2014 12:37 EDT | Updated 10/28/2014 05:59 EDT

Coun. Gloria Lindsay Luby won't seek re-election this fall

Anything can happen on Election Day, but change is guaranteed to be coming to a handful of Toronto wards where councillors have opted not to seek re-election.

Today, Coun. Gloria Lindsay Luby confirmed that she will not be running again this fall.

Coun. Karen Stintz recently bowed out of the mayoral race and also indicated that she wouldn't seek re-election in Ward 16 Eglinton-Lawrence.

Other councillors who have said they won't be running again include Coun. Mike Del Grande, who has registered to run as a trustee for the Toronto Catholic District School Board.

Coun. Doug Ford announced months ago that he wouldn't be running again, in part so that he can focus on running his brother's mayoral campaign.

Three councillors who were appointed to fill vacancies on council have not registered to run in the coming Oct. 27 election.

Coun. Peter Leon was appointed in Ward 3 Etobicoke Centre last October, after former deputy mayor Doug Holyday was elected to the provincial legislature.

In July, council appointed councillors Ceta Ramkhalawansingh and James Maloney to fill vacancies created by the departures of Adam Vaughan and Peter Milczyn.

Vaughan left council to make a successful run at a federal seat for the Liberals in a summer byelection, while Milczyn won a seat for the provincial Liberals in the June election.