09/28/2014 10:50 EDT | Updated 11/28/2014 05:59 EST

Fallen Canadian police and peace officers memorialized today

Hundreds of Canadian police and peace officers are gathering on Parliament Hill today to remember colleagues killed in the line of duty, including the three RCMP officers killed in a shooting in Moncton, N.B., in June.

- LIVE BLOG | Follow CBC reporter Kamil Karamali's tweets from the memorial.

The Canadian Police and Peace Officers Memorial takes place on the last Sunday of September each year. Today's Parliament Hill ceremony runs from 11 a.m. to 12 p.m. ET.

Five officers are being honoured this year:

- RCMP Const. Douglas J. Larche.

- RCMP Const. Dave J. Ross.

- RCMP Const. Fabrice G. Gevaudan.

- Toronto police Const. John Zivicic.

- Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment conservation officer Justin A. Knackstedt.

The three Mounties were killed during a shooting spree on June 4 in Moncton, N.B., that also left two other RCMP officers injured. Justin Bourque, 24, pleaded guilty to three counts of first-degree murder and two counts of attempted murder in connection with the shootings. He has yet to be sentenced.

Zivcic died after his unmarked cruiser was involved in a collision in Toronto last November.

Knackstedt was killed after being hit by an SUV while he was directing traffic at the scene of a crash south of Saskatoon in May 2013

The first Canadian Police and Peace Officers Memorial in 1978 honoured 14 officers. There are now more than 840 names of fallen officers on the list.

For each of the past 23 years, an average of six to eight officers have died in the line of duty.

Live blog